Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-22-2009, 07:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Yellow Eye Tang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 212
Hair Algae :'(

Well, my tank has been chugging along but the plant growth is minimal. Nothing seems to be dieing but baby tears and swords are not growing much. Now there seems to be a massive breakout of hair algae on the plant leaves. I've reduced lighting to 9 hours but the algae seems to be growing still with no growth to my plants. DIY Co2 is cranking and I've been using florish accel and nutrafin plant gro. If you need their specs let me know. Please help im worried. I'm going to go in and go snail hunting for now. Thanks a million!
__________________

__________________
<---Steve--->
Yellow Eye Tang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 08:20 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
i would try a black out. for me hair algae pops up with fluctuating co2 levels.
__________________

__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 09:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
timwag2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 980
flurish excel is a carbon suppliment. you can use it with your co2 but it's kinda along the same idea.
i did a search for plant gro and the stuff i found has .15 Nitrate along with some trace elements. if you look at your bottle they usually have some numbers like .15 - 0 - 0. the first number is nitrate, second is phosphate, third is potasium. those are your macro nutrients and you have to have all of them in your tank. if you bottom out on one of the nutrients your plants cant utilize the other ones. and since there is nutrients that the plants arent using, algae will use them.

and your swords need root tabs. some say theirs do fine without them but swords are root feeders and mine die without them. give them a try, i bet they rebound in a few weeks
__________________
timwag2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 11:21 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
happygirl65's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 1,358
This is where it is good to have dry ferts so you can tweak your dosages of ferts to only include what you need.
For me, hair algae was an imbalance of too much phosphate and too little potassium....my tap contained phosphates so I had to stop dosing that and it eventually balanced out.
__________________
happygirl65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, hair, hair algae

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this hair algae? JustOneMore20 Saltwater & Reef - Identification 4 08-30-2009 04:02 PM
Fuzz Algae? Not Hair Algae! FSEMTB2 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 12 08-14-2007 12:55 PM
hair algae ewelch Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-27-2006 03:58 PM
Hair Algae hardparts2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 05-08-2006 12:50 PM
siamese algae eater/hair algae nitrous Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 04-29-2006 04:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.