Help with newly planted tank and lighting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jtrain

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am still new to this planting thing, so please bear with anything I may say that you may feel is silly. From the research that I have done online, I know that I should have roughly 2-3 watts/gallon for a planted tank. I currently have a 20 gallon All-Glass setup with one 18,000K 15 watt bulb. That only works out to .75 watts/gallon. I can't seem to find anything that will fit my 20 gallon tank and allow me to up the wattage to the roughly 50 watts I think I need. I also sort of know that the color of the light makes a difference. I have an Aqua-Glo bulb that says 35 LUX. I would love any and all input on this subject. THANX :D

First of all you could read the sticky about light. Then you will see that it would be better anyway to get a bulb between 6500 and 10000K. Your 18000 are not really beneficial for plants and might only be beneficial for growing algae :cry: .

Second, how long is your tank? Do you have a DIY hood or want to make one? Do you want lights with legs to sit on? A hole hood? Strip lights? Look around at www.bigalsonline.com a little to see first of all what your possibilities are :wink: .

If you get over 2wpg you have to get CO2, otherwise you might be growing algae.

My tank is 24" long. A regular 20 gallon. I currently have the ALL-Glass hood that came with my ALL-Glass tank. It has a clear plastic part that my strip light sits on and shines through. If I could just replace the strip light with maybe a two bulb light with two 6700 bulbs, would that be sufficient? That will give me about 30 watts in my 20 gallon tank. If I subtract out the substrate and rocks, then maybe my 20 gallon tank only has 15-17 gallons of water?