I want a lawn!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Midnighttang

Aquarium Advice Activist
Is there a type of plant that stays relatively short and will spread like ground cover? I'd like to create a sort of "lawn" in my tank. I'd prefer relatively low maintenance, since I'm new to the planted aquarium biz.

I may be wrong since I'm new as well but...from my research most if not all nice thick ground cover needs high light and co2 and isn't particularly easy to grow...I wanted the same thing when I started my planted tanks lol, I'm only missing co2 right now then in off on the thick ground cover adventure...

Good luck!

Dwarf baby tears, and dwarf hair grass, are both ground covering plants! But you'll need high light good substrates and co2! If you want ground cover you need to prepare properly!

Best of luck!

Dwarf sag stays at around three inches and is a lower light plant. it produces runners like crazy and makes a "lawn" quickly.

phoenixkiller said:
I dunno if this is considered a 'lawn', but I am growing java moss pretty low to the substrate, and it looks like an unkempt lawn to me ;) .

+1 here. Java moss will create a nice lawn. Along with fissidens. If you want to learn more, let me know.

Thanks for all the suggestions! My only worry about Java Moss is that I've heard it takes over the tank, but I assume I can control that by just pulling some out when it starts going where I don't want it :). I had never heard of fissidens or dwarf sag. I looked up some pictures and they both look like great option, but the fissidens look like they will create more of the carpet look I want. I'm trying to create an area that might allow a shrimp or two to survive in my tank. I wonder if I could do a combo of the dwarf sag with the mosses or will one of the varieties just crowd out the others?

Midnighttang said: