java fern

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

blizowman1

Aquarium Advice FINatic
ok so im very very new to plants. Well the whole aquarium thing all together. i went and bought my first plant to stick in my tank. I finally decided on a java fern because really i havent been able to find alot on the whole plant info. And java fern is a name that ive seen come up alot. I put it towards the middle of the very left side of my tank is this a plant that should be stuck in the back or is there other plants that would be better suitable for the back of the tank? I have two little baby sprouts on the back of one of my leafs too, How big should i let them get and how do i remove and replant so the actually form bigger plants and arent damaged? And when i bought the plant and got it home i realized they had a rubberband loosely at the bottom right above the roots, my guess was to keep the stems up and held together, Should i have removed this before planting it in my gravel? And finally how deep am i supposed to plant it is there any kind of info on a site that would kind of explaine these things to me and any info or recommendations you all can give would be awesome too. and any recommendations on plants and there placement in a tank would be great too. THANK YOU

I'm also new to the aquarium trade, but I've been heavily researching.

I just recently got a 20 gallon tank and yesterday I went down to the pet store and picked up some plants.

I grabbed the java ferns because from what I've read and what the guy told me, they're extremely easy to care for, and look interesting.

He told me that they will infact reproduce, so you will see more of them start popping up. They grow slowly so you wont really have to give them much attention.