Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-12-2007, 08:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
Let's talk about well water......

I have an old well in my house that I really do not use since I converted to city water a year ago. I got the idea to run some tests on the water today and see what it looked like, here are my results:

Ammonia - 0
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate - 0
dKH - 35!
dGH - 46!!
pH - 6.7

One problem that I can see is the high level of Iron and some H2S. This sounds a lot like the liquid rock that I keep hearing about. I'm planning on setting up a test tank to see how it works out.

The hardness levels are so far out of typical range that I do not trust them. Taking a sample to work to get real tests done.

Any thoughts or issues you can see with using this water for a planted tank?
__________________

__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 11:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I feel your pain. I'm moving this to the Planted Forum since it pertains to plants.
__________________

__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 12:31 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 748
Why is the pH so low? shouldn't it be closer to 8 or even 9?

Some planted tanks have really hard water and are absolutely stunning. Glenc's and Travis's tanks come to mind.
__________________
hashbaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 12:39 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
I think that is a good question.

I calibrated my pH probe before testing to make sure it was accurate, but it does seem odd. I plan on leaving the sample out for 24 hours and test again. This test was right out of the tap.
__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 08:20 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Rock Hill,SC
Posts: 237
I'd run the water for a while then take a reading. Since its been sitting its possible that the hardness is a false reading. All those minerals built up over the years since its not really moving.
__________________
click my info if you're that curious.
IceH2O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 10:38 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
While the water is not used in the house, it does get used to water the garden. When I took my sample the hose had been running for nearly an hour. Actually that is what gave me the idea to test it. The well was in constant use until last summer so it had not really been sitting that long. The pH is the part that really throws me at the moment.
__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 11:42 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
happygirl65's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 1,358
I have a recent similar circumstance. Our well water is PH 6.6 GH 11, KH 8
but it is fed by mountain springs. I recently tested the water in the pond which holds the water before it trickles down hill through the ground into the well and the GH and KH were much lower 5 and 4.
But I do know there are a lot of rocks down the well that would account for that.

The strange thing to me was that a few months ago in the winter time, the PH was higher....so I think I must have been doing something wrong before. The water in my 55 gal planted stays consistant at 8.0ph but I think the rocks are responsible for the increase.
__________________
happygirl65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 06:07 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
Ok,

I tested the pH today and it is reading 8.1

I did aerate the sample over night to help oxidise the iron and h2s. I wonder if that helped alter the pH in the water?
__________________

__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
let's talk iodine copi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-18-2005 01:50 PM
Let's talk copper . . . mcquillian Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 5 08-28-2004 12:44 AM
more goby talk... klg1824 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 05-31-2003 05:53 PM
What's all this talk of ... ?? Grant R Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-12-2002 11:44 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.