Plants and UGFs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SaltwaterDreams

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

On this site and others I have read about planted tanks and a UGF. Some say they have been very sucessful with it all, and others simply don't reccomend it at all.

At the moment i have a 20gal community tank with an under gravel filter. In the tank I currently have 4 blue danios, 2 male guppies, (will add 4 females soon) and 2 awesome otos. Plant wise I have 2 medium sized 'rooting' plants and one floating that is hanging around, along side about 6 seeds that I popped into the tank about 1 week ago and are ready to sprout. In addition, I would like to add a bit of java moss.

I love the look of a planted tank but personally I am not sure I want a fully planted tank. I am not that experienced yet among other reasons. But I would like to sustain a variety of plants however, I do have that UGF.

So far my plants have done well, all but 1 that I bought in the beginning. It was a large and long leaved beautiful thing, but the leaves turned brown and sickly looking and I eventually tossed it after trying to nurse it outside the tank. The other plants like I said, are doing just fine.

I am wondering now, how many plants can an UGF sustain? I mean, I have heard one person say they had a fully planted tank for quite a number of years that was perfectly fine. I can see the drawbacks of this UGF and plants, but I would jump to assume that there is a median here. Perhaps it depends on the rooting of the plant or simply the number/density of them?

If I can hold a few plants happily with the UGF, are there any suggestions, especially about cleaning? I do use a fertilizer and a 25watt fluorescent bulb that came with the tanks hood.

Thanks in advance.