Show me your non co2 tank ...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

trennamw

Aquarium Advice Addict
And if you have the time, tell me more about it (substrate, fertilization routine, light level, plants and fish if you want to type a lot).

I don't understand all the brand and type names at all, with the lights and such.

I'm starting what is probably a 6-12 month plot to move up from a 29 to a 75. I'm very very new to plants and want to see what's possible without injected co2.

Sent from my iPhone with three hands tied behind my back.

Here is my 20g long shrimp tank:
mFqOnWa.png

Lighting: 30" Coralife dual T5 NO fixture; Heater: 50w? Finnex Titanium; Filter: AC50; Plants: moss (java, flame), Crypt wendtii red, crypt undulata. Ferts: root pellets usually once a month but have not added in the last 3-4 months...no other ferts provided; Stock: 25+ RCS, lots of MTS
Lighting is dim and growth is slow. But the crypt population is 4x than when I started this in May 2013.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

That's very serene looking.

And how do you resist the temptation to add fish? Lol.

I've been tempted but that would thwart my shrimp breeding/rearing efforts. Confession...it has been 25 months since my last fish purchase. If the shrimp did not work out I would put thread fins, kuhlis, or attempt dwarf cichlids.
This tank is the epitome of low maintenance.

Here's my 2.5g shrimp tank with a few tiger endlers in it. As you can see I have some rams horn snails. No co2 and light is the stock light fixture with a 10 watt 6500k cfl bulb. I dose glut and ferts sporadically. Low maintenance just changes and purge snails. Heater is a cheap tetra heater for 10g ( don't remember the wattage) and I have two filters, the stock one that came with the tank and a toms mini filter. Substrate is fluorite.