Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-18-2016, 03:25 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: California
Posts: 24
Starting planted tank

I recently moved and had to sell my 120g reef. Now I have a 50 gallon with live breeders. I wanted to make it a planted tank. I like the natural look of it. I got a few questions and hope you can help.

As far as lighting I got some LEDs

Can I have some plants with no CO2?

What plants would u recommend?

Is there anything I need to know?

__________________
El chakas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 05:02 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 6,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by El chakas View Post
I recently moved and had to sell my 120g reef. Now I have a 50 gallon with live breeders. I wanted to make it a planted tank. I like the natural look of it. I got a few questions and hope you can help.

As far as lighting I got some LEDs

Can I have some plants with no CO2?

What plants would u recommend?

Is there anything I need to know?

Are the LEDs for reef? Someone may have to correct me but they may not be the preferred lighting choice in a planted tank. They would probably still grow plants though.

You can absolutely grow plants without co2. Some varieties of cryptocoryne 's, Anubis, swords maybe, vallisneria. You need to know that plants like crypts and swords especially like nourishment at their roots and that co2 is often the limiting factor for plant growth. If you plan to use powerful LED lights with no co2 then this will most likely be a disaster which will Induce algae.

Lower lighting levels decreases the plants uptake requirements of carbon so they grow healthily but slowly. High light drives carbon demand higher and if there isn't enough the plants with eventually die.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 09:01 AM   #3
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 16,731
That's what I thought as well. I have grown plants using reef LEDs with blue lights off and white light dimmed. But I don't think it was ideal and added another LED high in reds.
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 11:53 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: California
Posts: 24
It's not a reef LED. It's a new set of lights for freshwater.
__________________
El chakas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 01:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: California
Posts: 24
Would I be good if I just use additives instead of CO2. Only I get a grasp of it eventually I'll get co2.
__________________
El chakas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 02:43 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 6,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by El chakas View Post
Would I be good if I just use additives instead of CO2. Only I get a grasp of it eventually I'll get co2.

You can try without carbon first then if plants are withering move on to liquid carbon additives.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 10:50 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: California
Posts: 24
As far as substrate go.. Would I have to switch to dirt or sand? I have the normal gravel
__________________
El chakas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 12:11 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 6,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by El chakas View Post
As far as substrate go.. Would I have to switch to dirt or sand? I have the normal gravel

You can use osmocote root tabs. Look them up. Many people will sell them on here. They are cheap and last a long time. Just push the into the gravel next to the plant.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 04:01 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: California
Posts: 24
Thanks I'll look into it
__________________
El chakas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
plant, planted, planted tank, star, start, starting, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help starting a new 50 gallon freshwater planted tank, first tank ever? Orokahs Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 11-19-2013 08:17 PM
Starting my tank planted tank today Darylb Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 0 06-04-2013 02:17 AM
starting 29 gal planted tank angiras Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 05-17-2004 10:43 AM
Starting a Heavy Planted tank...question Raimeiken Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 16 01-11-2004 02:43 AM
Starting a 29 gal planted tank fishfreek Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 09-01-2002 02:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.