trying to understand lighting...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AgilityIG

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am trying to wrap my mind around the lighting thing - I am NOT good with electricity. I just can't seem to "get it".

I have a 50 gallon tank and I want to start with some easy low light plants. I just bought some java moss, anubias and moneywort. The tank has two 24 inch hoods (I think the actual lights are 18 inches - I'll have to check on that).

As I understand it, I want to have 1 watt per gallon, so I need 50 watts of lighting? I looked at PetSmart tonight (just because I was there - I will buy lights at Home Depot or someplace) and all the 18 inch lights were 15 watts. So this would be 30 watts for my tank. Can you find higher wattage on 18 inch bulbs? Also, do I need 50 watts for each bulb or 50 watts total?

I will need to make sure the light is 6700K, correct?

I really appreciate all the help you guys dish out!!! :D

It would be 50 watts total, not each bulb. and no, you won't be able to find an 18" fluorescent bulb at a higher wattage, i've looked :) if you want more light than that, you will either have to retro fit your hoods to fit CFLs or buy new light strips (incandescent strips will work, then just replace bulbs with spiral CFLs.) as long as the color spectrum is somewhere between 6000k and 7000k you should be good, most 18" fluorescent bulbs that will work will be 6500k (that i have found). you may not need more than the two 15watt bulbs, depending on the shape of your tank and the plants you want to grow.