Overwhelmed!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Susha25

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm new to keeping fish, and I was so excited when my husband bought me a fish tank! It's used, and thinking it's a 20 gallon? I thought it would be simple, but after reading some of these posts I realize I have no clue what I'm doing! I ran the tank for about a week before getting any fish. We have 4 tetras (2 black skirt, 2 white skirt). We've had them for almost a month and haven't tested the water yet. The woman at the pet store said to bring in 1/2 cup water to be tested after a month. My fish seem happy and I haven't changed the water once. Do I need to worry about ammonia levels at all or adding other fish? Sorry for the long post!

I would certainly log water quality for a steady week prior to adding any extra fish. They still should be quarantined, rid of parasites, treated for Ich, whatever prior to going to the main tank. If they're testing for free, bring a sample in and look at options while they test. That'll be your yay/nay.

The only problem is that we don't have any fish stores where I live. I have to travel to Winnipeg, which is an hour and a half away, just to do water testing and to purchase fish.

The only problem is that we don't have any fish stores where I live. I have to travel to Winnipeg, which is an hour and a half away, just to do water testing and to purchase fish.

A master test kit is a much if you want to keep fish properly and seriously, IMO. Get the API Freshwater master test kit. Tetras like to be in a minimum group of seven, of the same species, not a mix.

Also, you should be changing water at least once a week. Leaving the tank without water changes for a month is a no no.