Red phantom

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BobbieD

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone, new here thanks for letting me join. Does anyone have experience with red phantom tetras? I have a bit of disaster with my 10 gal half moon tank. I am new to the fish world, always heard "get a fish" if you want something easy. Far from truth! I have a beta in a 5 gal that i adore, but my childs father was out with my girl one day and brought home 2 fish for my 5 gal beta! I had to rush out and set up a 5 gal tank for those 2, luckily the white skirt is doimg great but i lost the red eye tetra. I didnt really want tetras, but since i had one i decided to set up a 10 gal so he could have some tank mates. Not knowing these were schooling fish, i went out to get guppies once my 10 gal was cycled. The salesman told me i would need 6 or more guppies, and since i had a tetra it would be best to get more tetras. He didnt tell me they needed to be the same! So i now have 4 completely different tetras.. a white skirt, a red phantom, a blk skirt, and a glowfish tetra my daughter insisted on in a 10 gal. So..i have yet another tank i havent set up yet, so i can add more. But i cant have 24 fish, 6 of each. It seems the red phantom really is the one that needs the larger group, and seems quite shy so i would like to have 6 alone in a tank. And their needs seem to be a little different, heavy planted tank with more acidic water. Would the others be ok in groups of 3? 3. White skirts, 3 black skirts, and 3 glowfish tetras? If not i will have to return the blk fin tetra, as he is the most aggressive of the group. The new tank i have is 15 gal, so i dont want to put more than 9, and have my 10 gal just for the red. TIA, i know i made poor decisions and im just trying to do the best for these guys i have! I dont have space for a large aquarium and hate to return to