Water Quality Tips

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Spriteyy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey there! My name is Erin and I'm a fish-keeping beginner! After hours upon hours of research, I've decided to start up a 3-gallon betta tank. (I'll probably be upgrading some time in the future, though.) Does anyone have any tips for keeping good water quality, like cycling, reducing ammonia, and water change frequency? Thank you for your help!

Many keep Bettas in 10 gallon tanks, they're usually fairly cheap compared to smaller tanks. The extra water makes the tank more forgiving on water quality.

Your cycling numbers will be much more volatile in a small tank. Obviously bettas are routinely raised in micro tanks. You'll just need to be attentive to water data.

Pretty easy fish. Some issues though with keeping good water quality, some people get lazy.

Whatever is easier. Feed less but you can do it a couple times a day. Hikari BioGold is a reliable staple food which doesn't break down quickly and cloud water or make ammonia spikes when used as it should be.

Frozen baby Brine Shrimp and other Blood Worms, Tubifex, etc. A little goes a small way. Maybe a fasting day thrown in once in a while. Try feeding a cooked pea. A little aqua clear filter is a wise investement, along with a liquid testing kit like API, online is cheapest price wise.

A couple low light plants, a Nerite snail or other type (wouldn't go with a Mystery snail unless you do a 10G (if they die and you doen't notice right away they can nuke your tank with ammonia) and if you go with the 10G maybe a couple. Bristlenose Plecos or other small size Pleco to keep the bottom clean.

For water changes if you like to do a couple changes a week being less per change or prefer a larger 1x per week water change.