New to SW need a tank size

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Epaulette Shark

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am a newbe to SW but I have been keeping FW for a couple years. I have a FW 150 gallon Chiclid tank now. I am wanting to venture off into SW.

My goal is to have a 300 tank with 1 maybe 2 Epaulette sharks or Brownbanded Bamboo sharks.

What size tank do I need to start my SW Adventure off with?

I do not reccomend sharks to a newbie and I guess they would need a bigger tank than 300 gallons.I think they would need a tank about 600 gallons.

I would rather not start off with sharks. I would rather get my tank stable and my bioload going with something cheaper then about a $50-$100 Shark W/ Shipping.

From what I have read they can live in a 300 gal. But if that would be to small I would do a bigger tank something like mid 300's or 400 gal. I don't want to put stress on my sharks because of a small tank. I want him or them to have plenty of room to have fun.

sharks need ALOT of room and EXCELLENT filtration.You clould probably fit one in a 400 gal. Where did you read that you could put sharks in a 300? Overall I am still against having sharks in home aquaria.

In my

Aquarium-Sharks & Rays book ( by Scott W. Michael)

along with many, many Web pages

Alot of web pages says that you can keep One Aduilt Brownbanded Bamboo 3-3.5Ft. long in a 260 gal. tank.

If you search for them you will find out alot of information about them.

The question is, Can a 3.5 foot long shark really live well in a 300 gallon tank? I honestly don't know the standard dimensions of a 300, or if they are all custom. i know my parents jacuzzi is 250-300 gallons and I think a 3 foot shark would be very cramped.

Here is a listing that I found for ONE brand, but like I just said this is one brand and most of these tanks are Tall tanks!

Rectangular

L W H