Sump Questions for a Nano Cube 28

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

duoc9119

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I've got a pretty straight forward sump idea for a Nano Cube. Here are just some ideas:

I plan on getting the Proflex Model 1 sump, and run it as a refugium. I don't want to try to build a sump, because I have no experience building one from scratch and would like to experience how a commercial grade sump works before attempting to build one.

Second, I plan on taking out the false wall and drilling 3 holes. One on either side and one in the center for the overflow. Now, here's the interesting part... I am going to order the 700 overflow from Glass-Holes. After a few email exchanges, I was told that I could get their 700 overflow with a toothless design.

Now onto the questions..

What I want to know is if I should go with the dual returns to keep the 28 Nano, by means of a single Mag5 or 7. I went through the headloss calculator with 5 feet of vertical, 2 feet of horizontal (an guess since the returns are on either side of the tank and are coming from a far side of the sump), 3 90 degree elbows, 2 ball valves, and 2 exit points.. with the Mag5, at 1 inch tubing, I would get around 233 gph. The Mag7 with .75 inch tubing I would get around 351 gph.

I am not too sure which pump I should go with as the Mag5 doesn't sound like enough flow, while the Mag7 looks like a lot of flow. I will be adding a Korilla K1 powerhead into the display. So that looks like there will be a lot of flow. So which pump do you all recommend?

Back to the actual question.. Would having 2 returns, driven by one Mag5/7, be too much for a 28? As of now there's just a rescue (not my decision) yellow tang and rocks. Planning on making this a pretty hard core reef. Just want to get the filtration running and then upgrade to NanoTuners 4.6 Led.