5.5 Gallon Community!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fisker

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello! I'm new here, so I guess I'll give a quick little introduction to why this tank exists.

I'm a high school student who's going into college next year, and have been going to school, working a job, and paying on several bills and expenses for a while now. I've always enjoyed having aquariums, but I'm gone from my house from 7 AM till 11 PM on most days now, and on days I'm not gone, I'm usually in bed asleep or trying to catch up on homework. So, my hobby has kind of taken a hit, and while I don't want to stop caring and enjoying my saltwater tank, I think I need something that's going to be less stressful and a bit more entrancing to watch. I love saltwater, but it can be a bit much to keep up with! Plus, setting up a new tank always relaxes me, especially when it's a pretty simple set-up. So, here we go!

I grabbed a 5.5 gallon out of my closet, and decided to use the equipment I already had with the tank - at Top Fin Internal Filter with an AC sponge and a preset heater from Walmart. Both work fine for a standard 5.5, and have lasted me a long time in various applications. I went with some brown pea gravel I had in my closet (big mistake), and some cleaned base rock from an old reef tank. I set it up, and started cycling!

About a week into my cycle, I went to my LFS to see what they had and to pick up some plants. I came away with a few ideas, a Java Fern Windelov, a Red Tiger Lotus, and a Val. Lighting over this tank is just a desk lamp with a 7W 5000K LED bulb (which adequately lights the tank), but I hope to be upgrading to a PAR 30 suspended above the tank within the next couple of weeks when my next paycheck comes in. Should help the plants out!