Guppy Fry

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tinyninjafishy

Aquarium Advice Freak
One of the female guppies I got from the fish store, was pregnant when I got it, had some fry. I retrieved 8 fry, dont know if that was all of them but am assuming there were more. A couple of the frys tails are "up" if that makes sense. Can anybody tell me if this is bad or not and what to do if it is bad? Thanks:ermm:

If by up you mean pointed then they are probably pin tail or pointed tail. But if you mean they are pointed upwards im not quite sure as to what to tell you. Im sorry i cant be of more help as like i said before i am new to breeding guppies myself. Although i am in college now for marine biology so if i could be of more help in the future i would be more than happy to.

Haven't figured out the whole picture thing haha. But I have been researching it and think it may be a spinal disease :\

If it is a spinal disease, from all my research on hazards of excessive inbreeding, i think thats what your problem is concidering the spinal disease. Many guppies who are severely inbred can suffer from hernias and spinal problems that can cause death. Again i hope this eases you from thinking you did something wrong. Its not your fault. Excessive inbreeding is a serious issue. I wish i could help more. I am currently entolled in college for marine biology and my main projectbis a guppie breeding program so in a couple of months pm me and maybe we can work something out. I have pics up now of my pair and gonna have some new pics of my male up in a few. Again im sorry for your loss.