japenese fighters... next step please help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

m013y

Aquarium Advice Regular
Ive just witnessed my bettas mating nd he was catching eggs. Ive watches them all day and they have finished.

Ive took out the female and he is gaurding his nest.
How long does the fry take to hatch?
Ive heard 24hr lighting is advised?
Do i continue to feed?
Do i take out the nest?

Any info would be great as i am new to betta breeding. I may have done the wrong thing by taking out the female but i heard this is when they most likly to be attackd. Thanks for ya time :)

Ive just witnessed my bettas mating nd he was catching eggs. Ive watches them all day and they have finished.

Ive took out the female and he is gaurding his nest.
How long does the fry take to hatch?
Ive heard 24hr lighting is advised?
Do i continue to feed?
Do i take out the nest?

Any info would be great as i am new to betta breeding. I may have done the wrong thing by taking out the female but i heard this is when they most likly to be attackd. Thanks for ya time :)

For starters, Congrats on getting your Bettas to breed (y)
To answer your questions:
Yes, it was a good thing you removed the female as more often than not, the male will drive the female away and if she can't get far enough away, he will kill her.
Hatching usually is in about 36-40 hours at 78-80 degrees. Warmer water will speed up the hatching but I have found it also hurts the fry. Cooler temps will cause a delay in hatching but if given a choice, I would rather a slower hatching time then a quicker one. ;)
I usually leave my males in the breeding tank until the day before the fry are ready to start free swimming (which is about 3 days after hatching.) As long as the male does not have a history of fry eating, I leave my males to care for the fry.