Pregnant Molly, I think?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tinnybear

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm completely new to the fish aquarium world, but LOVING IT so far. That being said, I had no idea one of my Molly's was pregnant and it broke my kids hearts along with mine that we saw babies one moment and the next, they were gone. I started researching and now feel a little more prepared but this Molly isn't delivering. Is there something I'm doing wrong?

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    217.9 KB · Views: 57
Your Molly

Hello Tinny...

You need to prepare the tank for the fry. Livebearers require heavily planted surface areas for their fry. As soon as the fry are born they swim to the surface for a breath of air. If the surface is heavily planted, they're very likely to survive. If not, they become lunch for an adult. Hornwort is likely the best surface plant. The more single stems you drop into the tank, the higher the fry survival rate.

I keep large, heavily planted tanks of mostly Fancy Guppies and Platys, also fish that give birth to live young. When I see fry in the tank, I start to feed all my fish a little more and a little more often. Well fed adult livebearing fish are less likely to be interested in the fry.

B

Sometimes moving them into another tank or a box like that stresses them really bad and can make them hold the babies or drop them too soon

I second the poster who said add lots of extra coverage/plants. We go heavily planted and hope for the best with our fry

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Thank you. I have added several plants, but will go back to the store and buy more. She does seem upset and I have been feeling terrible for keeping her in "the box". She is a balloon belly Molly but I can see the dark spots in her belly. I will release her and see what happens. Fingers crossed.