75 Gallon Planted Discus Project

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Glenc

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hey all, I've been working on something for a few months and thought I'd post a couple of shots.
Keeping Discus in a high light tank and trying to keep it balanced has been probably the toughest challenge I've faced yet.

Both require allot of time and dedication to nurture to their full potential, one almost negates the other. What makes plants happy is not the best for your Discus, what makes Discus happy is not so great for your plants. Discus are big, messy fish that need allot of food and make allot of waste. This alone can destroy a finely tuned planted tank. Factor in 84 degree temps needed for Discus and you find you are limited to what species will tolerate those kind of temps. Half my plants died off.

You also should do more than 1x50% water change per week with Discus to keep them healthy and happy. I do two at the moment. That messes big time with your fert levels.
It took awhile and it's been quite a challenge but I'm getting a handle on it. Sourced out higher temp tolerant species and started over.
Discus have stolen my heart. I finally found a fish that can rival my love for planted tanks. Got to get another one going!:)

Attachments

• IMG_2009.jpg
    IMG_2009.jpg
    65.2 KB · Views: 850
  • IMG_2013.jpg
    IMG_2013.jpg
    66 KB · Views: 388
Looking absolutely fantastic. I can relate to the issues with a planted discus tank. It is hard to maintain water for both plants and discus. You have done an amazing job!

Dude, big fish and crypt tank envy. Your erupting volcano of Java over Anubias reminds me of a great section of Travis's tank in a good way.