100 gal tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

whehudeh

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm about to receive a 100 gal tank and I can't decide on what kind of fish I'd like to keep in there. I currently have a 38 gal community tank with Angels, red tail sharks & plecos.
I have no experience with aggressive fish but I'm torn between them & Discus. I would rather NOT have any fish that will grow bigger than 5-6 inches. Any suggestions........
Also looking for suggestions on filters and substrate (I'm a little scared when it comes to sand because no experience in cleaning it). Thank you in advance for your input.

There are quite a few 6 inch or smaller cichlids you could put in there. If you do discus stick with discus only as they are touchy. Water parameters are specific and water quality has to be pristine with a higher temp.

You could do a tank of large number of schooling fish with some bottom dwellers.

Substrate depends on what you decide to get with fish. The same with filtration.

Hmmm, cichlids or schooling fish. What's the deal with cichlids because of course they're a few different kinds that comes from different places eg. South American. How do you know which are compatible? I definitely don't want to breed them so how many males or females would you recommend for a tank? Does the tank have to be heavily planted or have more rocks? I'm truly a novice and I can't rely on a pet store be honest as most of the time they're just trying to sell their fish.

Africans love rocks whereas my South Americans love plants. I have a sand substrate in both. Beware as some cichlids are highly aggressive and when mature can only be housed by themselves as the will kill everything in their tanks. Stay away from jaguars and dobii! Those fish are known to attack you during feeding and cleaning.