10g New Aquarium 2wks old

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dylan07

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi AA I'm a newbie to the hobby and are hearing people talking about the cycle and testing and WC(water changes) I let my tank sit for 28hrs with the filter and decor in the tank just to Clear my tap water as I use Big ALS water conditioner and bio support, I went the next day and got 3 platys and 3 white clouded minnows to start my cycle. I feed my fish what the store recommended which is omega one what they feed them in store. I was told to hold off on my water changes for the first 2 weeks to build bacteria and I haven't bought the API test kit yet as I hope to get that on Wednesday with my siphon, starting yesterday I saw a change in my water clarity it got cloudy and also my one platy started to slow down and just stay at the bottom of the tank, he/she is not dying at least I hope. I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice and tell me if the guy at the fish store is setting me up for failure not cleaning my tank in 2 weeks, your feedback is greatly appreciated!!
Dylan07

Your ammonia and nitrites should be at zero and nitrates can be a little over zero. But to get this your tank has to be cycled. I lost a lot if fish until I learned about cycling. Then I was suggested to use sachem stability. After using It for the one week it says on the direction my tank was cycled. I haven't lost any fish ever since and they all seem really happy:)

I recommend trying it. It's safe to use with fish already in the tank.

If a store tells you to skip water changes in a cycling tank then I would highly suggest that you ignore ANY advice that they ever give you.

You need to do a 50% anytime your ammonia teaches .5ppm. Doing this keeps the toxins in your tank to a minimum and allows you to keep your fish safe.