17 days into the cycle - Need Advice!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jackieplz

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone,

I'm new to aquariums and am looking for a bit of feedback regarding my setup. My intentions are to establish a healthy tank then build a small aquaponics setup on the tank. My goal was to do this around Christmas time but I want to make sure my tank is on the right track.

I made the mistake of purchasing guppies before fully running through the cycle. The PetSmart workers assured me it would be fine but after reading through forums I realize I should have waited to add fish.

AQAURIUM SETUP
With that being said, I have a 10 gallon tank with four male guppies and four live plants. Two of the plants came from established aquariums and two came from the gel, plastic tubes that big box pet stores sell. One of the plants from the established aquarium must have had a couple snails hidden in it because I've noticed two very small snails in the tank.

I've been occasionally using Seachem Stability and Seachem Prime, although its unclear to me at this point when I should be using them. I've read so much conflicting information regarding this.

I've been logging my water levels using the API Freshwater Master Test kit.
(The formatting of this is getting messed up when I hit submit, I'm not sure how to make it stay but the numbers for each date read from left to right as PH, Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate, Treatment)

Date PH NH3 NO2 NO3 Treatment
29-Nov 7.6 0.5 0.5 0.0
30-Nov 7.2 0.25 0.5 5.0
1-Dec 7.2 0.25 0.5 5.0 1/2 cap of stability
2-Dec 7.2 0 0.5 5.0
3-Dec No test
4-Dec 7.2 0.25 0.5 0.0
5-Dec 7.2 0.25 0.5 5.0 20% water change
6-Dec No test
7-Dec 7.2 0.25 5.0 10.0 1/2 cap stability 1/5 prime
8-Dec 7.2 0.25 1.0 5.0
9-Dec No test
10-Dec 7.2 0.25 2.0 10.0 1/4 cap stability 1/5 cap prime
11-Dec 7.2 0.25 2.0 10.0
12-Dec No test