25% water change

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kmiddler

Aquarium Advice Newbie
My change is due tommorrow as my ammonia has creeped up, this is my first time need some help.

The thing is the nitrate in my tap water is of the scale of my API testing kit. I was advised to do the water the night before adding some tap safe, but I'm worried this is not gonna work. Is there anything else I can do? Don't want to lose my guppies or ghost glass fish. Need help asap.

How much nitrates are we talking about? My tap has 10-20 (I have a hard time with the colors) & I do weekly 50%+ water changes. By the end of the week my 46g has around 40 nitrates. I use a water changer for the 46g so its straight from the tap to the tank. My 2 10g tanks I do by bucket, running & treating the water in a bucket right before I remove tank water. Hope this helps.

What size tank do you have? If its small I'd buy some bottled water to do this first change with. A local fish store that is on the same water supply could probably give you some good advice, or if they are on different water they might sell you enough to do your change. I know there are some shops that sell saltwater they mix, some might do the same for freshwater.

My nitrates in my tap read 20-40, I have a 90l tank so fairly big, I tested the water I treated last night and it reading around 5 nitrate level, this is to dangerous surley to put in my tank, but my ammonia in tank is creeping up so need to change it asap

kmiddler said:
My nitrates in my tap read 20-40, I have a 90l tank so fairly big, I tested the water I treated last night and it reading around 5 nitrate level, this is to dangerous surley to put in my tank, but my ammonia in tank is creeping up so need to change it asap