30 Gal Plant/Fish Stocking - First Tank Plans

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ehpn7

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, everyone!

I've been lurking for quite some time while I figure out what sort of aquariums I'm interested in, and I'm getting to the point in my planning process where I want to run everything I've come up with past people with actual experience for input and suggestions. I've got a lot of experience with pet care (used to be an animal trainer!) but I've never had fish.

Potential Setup So Far:

- 30 Gallon (3ft) tank (comes with a hood + light- "standard t8 flourescent")
- I'd like for this tank to be heavily planted. I like that the plants improve water quality (which, hopefully, would make maintaining the fish's health easier), I like that it's a more natural environment for the fish to live in, I think it should make it easier to have a community tank with a betta, and I really like the aesthetics.

Fish:
- 1 Male Betta
- 3 Upside Down Catfish
- 5 Cory Cats (specific type still up for debate)
- Some miscellaneous mid/upper-tank dwellers, open to suggestions!
- This is what I've plugged into Aqadvisor so far.

Questions:

-- Substrate : What kinds of substrate would be supportive of plant growth while safe for the catfish barbels?

-- Fish : Suggestions for fish to share the upper portion of the tank with the betta?

-- Filters/Heaters : Recommendation for appropriate equipment? First priorities are affordability and efficiency, but I'd also like to consider an in-water filter, as my tank will probably be viewable from both sides.

-- Is there anything I'm overlooking?

-- Plants : I love the look of these two, but I'd like some advice about what sorts of plants would work well with my fish's water conditions + are very easy to care for!this and this

Hello, everyone!