55 Gallon Stocking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CherryBarb123

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi there! I am a newbie here and I have recently set up a 55 gallon tropical tank, which is home to 4 cherry barbs at the moment, and I am working out what I am going to stock it with. This is an idea I had. I am not sure if it is too much, so any advice would be great, as it is all a bit confusing!

10 x Cherry Barbs
10 x Bleeding Heart Tetras
15 x Rummynose Tetras
8 x Kuhli Loaches
8 x Panda Corydoras

This may be overstocked, I am not sure! I am open to any suggestions.
Thanks in advance!

Yes that is slightly over stocked what type of filter do you have. How long have you been running the aquarium.

Before you add any more fish you need to establish your biological filtration. ( run through the nitrogen cycle) Meaning the tank has to run for a minimum of three weeks with fish in it if not performing a fishless cycle. I would start by buying a liquid test kit. (API has a good one) ( it should test for ph nitrite nitrate and ammonia). Once that is done test for ammonia nitrite and nitrate. You will most likely have high levels of ammonia and perhaps nitrite depending on how long the tank has been running. If you have ammonia you will then have to do a pwc. To bring it down. I could go on but I won't until you answer some of my questions.

I have a Fluval U4 Internal on it (It was what came with the tank). I am doing a fish Cycle with a few cherry barbs, and I have an API Liquid Test Kit.

It has been running a week so far
Thanks for the replies

Sorry, I meant Fish In Cycling

My levels are about:

Nirtite - 0.25 PPM
Nitrate - It appears to be between 30 and 40 PPM
Ammonia - 0.25 PPM