55gal cycling/stocking/decor ?'s

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NekoOo

Aquarium Advice Activist
Greetings!! I'm a newbie ^^

SO, my dad and I got a great 55 gallon acrylic tank today, complete with a stand and coralife lights, all for 150$ :D whoo!!

In the coming days/weeks we are going to see if we can polish the tank or something to get the few scratches out, check if it holds water, reseal a few things if needed, and start a cycle (must research how to do a proper cycle).

My dad and I have decided we want a tropical community tank. I have a small common pleco that will be the first addition to the tank, and we also know we want some come kind of tiny schooling fish (a big school, probably 50-100). With that in mind, what are some other good additions to add without being overstocked?

My other question is, with the coralife lighting, could we attempt a planted tank? If so, what are good, sturdy beginner plants that we could grow? What kind of gravel or sand should we use? We also want some rock as decor. Is there any aquarium safe, white/light colored rock, with natural caves/arches we could purchase? Also, as we are in the middle of nowhere, most of everything we get for the tank, including fish, will be purchased online. Any good, safe/reliable sites we could use?

Any and all help would be awesome! My dad and I are going into this with a very patient, determined state of mind and have no desire to cut corners. We realize this thing may not even have fish in it for another few months, but it'll be worth it and we both look forward to the work involved in maintaining a nice aquarium.

Thanks for viewing ^^

Attachments

• image-1768018495.jpg
    image-1768018495.jpg
    96.9 KB · Views: 80
  • image-1365551369.jpg
    image-1365551369.jpg
    121.1 KB · Views: 78
  • image-2924339769.jpg
    image-2924339769.jpg