75 gallon compatability question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pollex.jaypee

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I'm really a beginner in cichlid keeping. In fact, I haven't started yet.
But yes, I'm planning to.
I'll soon be having a 75 gal. And I've decided to do a lake malawi, mbuna set-up.
II'm thinking of getting Pseudotropheus acei.
Are they good beginner cichlids? If so:
What cichlids are compatible with them? Also, those that would complement their color? On another note, what mbuna cichlids should I avoid?

I'm planning to get 4 species.Hopefully, less aggressive ones since most probably I'll be getting them as juveniles. So there is no assurance that I'll get a good M:F ratio immediately.

Thank you very much :D

Some may disagree but IMO/E mbuna are a far cry from a good beginner cichlid.

- They have special dietary needs, otherwise they are prone to Malawi Bloat which is often fatal.

- Proper identification of males and female is indeed in order to stock correctly to avoid aggression.

- If stocked correctly the bio load on the system will be quite high. Proper filtration, aggressive water change schedule and a good working knowledge of how a higher PH will affect the water chemistry is needed.

If you are new to cichlids and are dead set on keeping mbuna my recommend is to find something common, hardy, readily available and moderately peaceful. Such as yellow labs.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I'm a beginner in cichlid keeping, but not really in fishkeeping :)
I have knowledge on feeding, filtration, and sexing.
I just can't decide what to put with acei. Those that will complement their colors and would not bash them to death.

I'll consider the yellow labs.Thank you very much :D

Acei, and other Mbuna are VERY versatile. Just do your research. Do properly size harems with good M to F ratio, generally 1 to 3.