A question of filters and substrates

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sugarbear

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Now, please correct me if I'm wrong. I'm really new to the hobby and have never had a tank larger then 10g. I've been reading allot of information for the past week before I set up my new 29 gallon tank.

I'm planning on using sand as a substrate, and use some low light type plants, none of which I've picked out yet I'm still in the developmental stage. Everything I've read says that sand requires more filtration than gravel. There is a stickied thread on this site that I was reading ...

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f24/filtration-guide-for-the-planted-aquarium-53366.html

That says I should have no more than 5x turn over per hour.

My question is this. If I'm using sand in the bottom of my tank, should I forgo the heavier filtration I've read about? I've read double the normal amount for your tank. Go with the 5 times turn over, or should I find some sort of happy medium.

Last edited:
In my personal experience the type of substrate doesn't effect your filter needs. Most people here on AA recommend a 10x turn over. On my 20 gallon I have an AC50 (200 gph) and the substrate is sand. I personally think that anywhere from 6-12x is reasonable. Most people will say there is not such thing as too much filter flow. The only thing about sand is that it will 'blow' around if you have too much filter flow, you don't want to make a hurricane for the poor little fish :)