a seahorse tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

penguinsix

Aquarium Advice Regular
well i got excited to see that i could use my little one gallon tank for a dwarf seahorse. i was thinking about 2# of live rock and about 2-3 # of live sand. the tank has a cover that will alow up to a 15 watt bulb, what kind should i use if i don't use the florescent one it has? what should i use for water circulation if any? is there a small enough heater for it? and what about the baby brine shrimp, how should i rase them? is this tank even big enough? what critters if any should i put in there?

thanks.

I would have to say no to it being big enough.. but I'm no expert on seahorses so..

It sounds like a very difficult project but pretty cool too.. I think you will have a greater chance of success with a larger tank, plus I just feel it's cruel to keep them in such a small space.

Read everything you ever wanted to know about caring for dwarf seahorses at http://www.seahorse.org

You have to be careful about live rock and sand - could introduce hydroids which pack a deadly sting for the dwarfts. Keeping good water parameters in a 1 gallon might also be difficult, most people go with a 2.5-5 gallon.

Azoo palm filter is highly recommended for small seahorse tanks.

Brine shrimp are pretty easy - do a search on the above mentioned link and you'll find out more than you ever wanted to know!

I am presently cycling a 5 gallon for dwarfs. I can hardly wait!

Carolyn

If you can make it work...put up some pics for us when it's ready...should be interesting to see...sounds like a heck of a challenge