Above ground ponds in south eastern Ohio

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aftyrant

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
My question is if I have a 100%above ground pond (thinking about using a giant blue swimming pool) will it completely freeze since it is not in the ground?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

No answers at all?

Yes. Definitely. You will have to winterize it in some way to protect it. If it doesn't manage to freeze completely through then it'll most likely be due to the fact that the walls will fail.

I'm no expert on ponds but I believe in colder climates people bring their fish to indoor holding areas which are much easier to keep heated and keep fish safe. Then they drain the pond because when water cools it contracts and then as it freezes it expands which will cause tons of damage. Again I'm no expert on ponds and haven't the slightest clue about pond equipment..but I would imagine you'd need some pretty awesome equipment to keep it going during the winter in freezing temperatures.

No it won't freeze solid. You will need a deicer pump or doughnut heater and aeration to keep a hole in the surface open for gas exchange. Goldfish, koi, and other species that can winter over will be just fine add long as the water is liquid. If you keep the water moving it should be fine, but the doughnut heater would be a very good idea to use in combination with a pump or air stone.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app