Absolute Newbie, looking for help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

XimeD

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi everyone, :)

So, I am new to this hobby and unfortunately followed my LFS advice and did pretty much EVERYTHING wrong!! Thought being a chemist would help but found that not really when I didn't do my research properly. Here's the story.......

Got a 20gal aqueon starter kit from the store, waited 4 days before getting fish then got (as per their suggestion) 1 pleco, 2 giant danios and 3 redtail tinfoil barbs as starter fish. Which I now know are going to get WAY to big for my 20gal so I will probably a) get a bigger tank in the future or b) find them a new home.

Everything went relatively well the first month, I was doing weekly 25% PWCs to keep ammonia down but my tank was not cycling. Then, foolish me, I go to the store and ask for advice, the guy there says to stop doing PWCs because that meant my tank would not cycle (now I know this is not true) and use Ammo-Lock instead (which later I read can stall the cycling) and feed fish every 3 days (probably only good advice they gave).

A month later (and several trips to LFS to double check because what I was doing felt wrong) my ammonia is through the roof (at least 8ppm, highest reading on my API liquid test kit), fish are looking very stressed, tank is filthy (algae everywhere, dont know what kind but looked redish) and I decide to disregard all LFS advice and do a 50% PWC.

Here's what I did:
50% PWC
Scrubbed all decorations
Vacuumed gravel
Changed filter cartdrigde (yes I now know this was wrong, but it was really clogged and I didn't know to rinse it in old tank water)

Lost one of my tinfoil barbs right after PWC :(