Accidental Aquariast needs help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Strix

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone!

I'm new to aquariums, and new to this group. I've always wanted to establish a nice aquarium but didn't think it would happen so soon. My daughter wanted some fish for her 6th birthday, so my husband took it upon himself to get a 10 gallon tank and all the fixin's for her. I don't think he realized how much maintenance was going to be involved and left it alone. We lost a guppie two weeks into it (water tested acidic so we did Ph decreaser), and I have since taken over testing the water, cleaning, etc. and trying to get things happy and healthy -- but what a bumpy road it's been.

To make a long story short, we were inadvertently overfeeding the fish (3 guppies, 3 tetras, 3 mollies, and a bottom feeder). I first noticed the ammonia spike and got ammonia neutralizer. Water was also very alkaline, but lady at the store said not to mess with any more chemicals, and to leave the Ph alone. Now the ammonia is safe, but we have bad nitrite levels. I did 25% water change yesterday, but being in panic mode to get the water changed, didn't realize I should've sucked water from the gravel to get the gunk out. I lost a Molly after the water change. (I had noticed a few hours earlier that she had a bit of fin rot on her tail, but otherwise seemed fine, but she declined rapidly after the water change.) I then noticed a guppy with swollen tummy (dropsy?). He's been fine up until a few hours ago, when he started hanging out at the bottom. Everybody else seems okay so far.