Advice - Molly harassing Dwarf Gourami

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

elidd

Aquarium Advice Newbie
First post, sorry if this is in the wrong forum. I’m pretty new to the hobby, though I learned a bit through friends who kept fish. I recently set up a planted tank, 29 gallons. I gave it a week to begin cycling, and then introduced three fish to speed it up a bit – I have a lot of time to devote to neccesary water changes and adjustments and to take daily measurements. The fish are a Platy, a Molly, and a Dwarf Gourami, and from what I can tell they are all male (though I’m not positive on the Molly).

The issue I’m having is the Molly seems to harass the Gourami. It appears to be nipping the Gourami, sometimes on the fins but mostly on the side of its body (not side fins or gills). Having never seen this behavior, I’m struggling to decide if its too much. I’m not sure if the Molly is really nipping the Gourami – its mouth is open but there’s not any violent movements or latching on, it looks exactly like what the Molly does with its mouth when it swims on the side of the glass. I also can’t see any damage on the Gourami, and I took pictures at the start to be sure. When this happens, the Gourami just swims away and hides, doesn’t really ty to fight back at all. The Molly will continue to chase for a bit, the whole things usually over in 15 seconds. Probably happens 3-6 times an hour during the day, I’ve never seen it happen once the Gourami settles down for the night. The Gourami spends some of its time hiding, but usually swims around the tank and doesn’t seem lethargic or injured. I’ve had them for 4 days.