Ammonia not dropping :(

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

janky

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I'm still new to aquariums and made the mistake on my first tank of just introducing 5 fish to treated tap water.
Obviously as the nitrogen cycle began, we lost 2 fish to ridiculous ammonia levels.
I've been doing non-stop research in between, and even bought a testing kit.
The problem is, for the last 2+ weeks, even with regular water changes and gravel vacuuming, the ammonia has been STEADY at 2.0ppm.

What gives?! Am I doing something wrong? Does it take longer than 2 weeks to start dropping?

We even purchased one of those "ammonia remover" bags from petco and had that in for a week. Even after that, and a water change, it's still at 2.0 ppm. :banghead:

Did you purchase an API master kit (liquid)? The test strips are horrible.

It takes roughly 4-6 weeks to cycle a tank. Don't put anything else like ammonia remover in the tank. All you're doing is messing the process up.

With a fish-in cycle, you need to do tons of water changes. That's a toxic living environment for them.

What kind of fish do you have?

+1 for not using ammonia remover.

How much water are you changing out? Are you testing the tank immediately after the change and still getting 2ppm?

If you test the tank and it's at 2ppm, only a 50% water change (which may seem substantial) should reduce ammonia to 1ppm (.25ppm or lower is recommended). If you're waiting a day before testing again, then you did actually reduce the ammonia previously, it's just back up again due to waste/food.