ammonia out of the tap, fish in tanks.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GilraenTook

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Ah, my first post here and I am going to sound completely irresponsible, oops! :hide:

To start off, I've been keeping fish for about 10 years now. At first I was the whole "the pet store obviously wouldn't give me bad info. Why are my fish dying???" type keeper, and after only having a betta or two for about 5 years, I branched back into trying(and succeeding with, for the most part) tropicals.

For the history when I was doing well with my fish, I was living in western Colorado, and had a 30 gallon with fancy goldfish, and a 10 gallon with a betta a lot of cherry shrimp, and a lot of plants. I found out back in August that I was moving back(thank goodness. . .) to Florida, and gave the goldfish back to the pet store, then got a couple of dwarf crayfish and moved everything to my 30.

I just got into Tampa earlier this week, and re-set up my tanks. Now comes the rather embarrassingly bad part. In the past, when I'd had my tanks set up with their plants, I was having trouble getting my test kit(even with the goldfish) to show any nitrates, and the ammonia/nitrites were always at 0. I put the betta, his shrimp and my crawdads(for the time being) into the 10 from the cooler they were in, and since I'd decided to get tiger barbs for the 30, got 5 of them. I usually don't cycle with fish, but figured that the plants would take care of the problem for me, since even when I'd gotten a 3rd goldfish to add to the 30 when I had them in there, I didn't get any sort of a spike in ammonia.