Ammonia Remover

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NewFish1

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Is this stuff worth the money and does it really benefit the tank water?

AMMO-CARB® Activated Carbon and Ammonia-Removing Resin - Filter Media - Fish - PetSmart

I have two AquaClear 50 power filters on my 28 gallon tank so I decided to try this stuff in one of the filters. Now I would like to know the opinion of this forum if I should continue to use this. I'm still getting started on my new hobby and I presently only have 9 fish in the tank- 3 Zebra Danio's, 3 Serpae Tetra's and 3 Lemon Tetra's.

BTW- my ammonia has been holding steady at near zero and I believe this is due to water changes.

Thanks!

NewFish1 said:
Is this stuff worth the money and does it really benefit the tank water?

AMMO-CARB® Activated Carbon and Ammonia-Removing Resin - Filter Media - Fish - PetSmart

I have two AquaClear 50 power filters on my 28 gallon tank so I decided to try this stuff in one of the filters. Now I would like to know the opinion of this forum if I should continue to use this. I'm still getting started on my new hobby and I presently only have 9 fish in the tank- 3 Zebra Danio's, 3 Serpae Tetra's and 3 Lemon Tetra's.

BTW- my ammonia has been holding steady at near zero and I believe this is due to water changes.

Thanks!

Are you using the ammonia remover right now? If so, the cause for no ammonia in your water is probably the ammonia remover. I don't recommend using it because like the previous said, it will starve the beneficial bacteria. It would be best to keep doing water changes until the tank is cycled, then you never have any ammonia and you only need to do a 25% water change once a week.

Ditch the ammo remover right away....