Another Ich question.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

speedy77k

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all

I am a newbie. I have a 55 gal tank with a wisper 60 filter on it. I let the tank cycle for 3 weeks. Then I went to put in a few fish. I went to wal mart figuring I might as well try cheap fish if I was gong to lose them at all. I bought 4 neons and 2 black bettas. I lost one of the neons on the first night, But i think it was on its way out from the get go. two weeks latter I had not lost any fish so I decided to ad a few more. I went to my local pet shop and bought 5 guppies, 2 males 3 females. One week went buy then I started to notice a couple spots on one of the male guppies within a week all the guppies had died. The question I have is does Ich attack some types of fish more than others. The wal mart fish look to be doing fine. Is there something else I need to do.

thanks

Welcome to AA!

it could be ich, I don't know much about it.

But it could also be ammonia poisoning. Since you added 5 new fish, you probably didn't have the bacteria built up to handle the additional load. I also question the readiness of your tank after 3 weeks.

Do you regularly test your water parameters? Ammonia, nitrIte, nitrAte? If so, couldyou provide us the readings you have gotten?

My gut tells me if you were to check it right now you'd see a spike in either ammonia or nitrIte, both of which are toxic to fish.

Welcome to AA. Neilanh is right about the parameters. You may very well be having an ammonia or nitrite spike. Test your parameters is a must.