Any Advise would be much appreciated.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

duncan4071

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi I am very new to the Aquarium world, I recently bought a 60ltr setup for a tropical aquarium. After watcging numerous videos and reading millions of forums I started the cycling process approx 4weeks ago, firstly I bought a nutrafin cycle set and informed me after 1week to add fish, I bought a Marble Mollie and a Red Wag Tail platy and two neon tetras. I did regular checks for ammoniia (Nitrate) whilst adding filter start (bacteria) for the remainder of the cycle the tests were gradually lowering in pinkness and got to 0.1mg (very light pink). On the final day of the cycle info in the booklet it informed me to do a 25% water change to establish tank marurity. So I bought a gravel cleaner and cleaned all gravel whilst syphoning the water out if the tank, I also removed the filter sponge and rinsed it in the old tank water. I dechlorinated the water I replenished the tank with and a day later checked the nitrate level which was at 4.0mg! HOT PINK! After reading up on this I think ive unintensionally Spiked the tank by cleaning it too well at the end of the cycle?Am I right in thinking this? And any Information as to lower the ammonia level would be appreciated.

Many Thanks Duncan. ( newbie)