Apple snail

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Benno425

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi I'm relatively new to keeping fish. I have a 46lt tank and have been stocking it with advice from my local per shop. I started with a couple of black mores An albino plec and an albino clawed frog. I then got an apple snail and all was well until I added two guppies. Suddenly my snail decided to spend all off it's time in its shell. It was I thought having a growth spurt as its shell was getting bigger so I thought it was normal. However after about a week I become concerned and soon realised it was dead as its internal mass was deteriorating. I assumed at the time the guppies were the reason my snail went into hibernation because they were introduced around the time the snail started hiding, they probably nipped it. Simply put I just don't l know. I'd like to get another snail but don't want my two guppies to pick at it again. Any ideas?????