Aquaclear (Fluval) 50 question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

malonbl

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm a newbie. I just upgraded to an Aquaclear 50 HOB filter for my 29 gallon tank. Will be a lightly planted and small species community tank (danios, tetras, cory cats, etc) when it is all said and done.

I've read enough on here that I know not to change the mechanical filter sponge every 2 months like it says. Also, I took the carbon out and placed a second mechanical filter sponge (like many on here suggested). I plan to simply clean these sponges in tank water when needed and only change one at a time if they truly need it.

Regarding the biological media, though, I was surprised to see the instructions mention to change this every 3 months. It seemed strange to me that I would ever change out the biomedia. Is this good advice or do people just leave the biomedia alone?

Do not change any media until it is falling apart, since you are running two sponges you can always swap one out every 4/5 months while seeding the new one..

Thanks. By seeding, I assume that just means putting a new sponge adjacent to/touching an established sponge?

The AC sponges and biomedia never need to be replaced. The occasional swish in some tank water is enough. What many do as well is replace the space the carbon was using with some polyfill/filter floss. This stuff can be discarded every few months or so and it does a great job at filtering out the really fine dirt particles.