AquaView 360 3-Gallon aquarium stocking advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

latvian

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone

This is my first post here and I am totally new to the aquarium world.

I have a 3-gallon aquarium that I want to put in my 4 years old son's room and I want to know what are the best species that can live in such a tiny aquarium and how many fish can I stock it with?
Can any of the following species survive in this aquarium?:

- Gouramies
- Rainbow fish
- Guppies

Also, is it possible to add a shrimp to the aquarium? What about live plants? I am interested in Java moss balls.

Thank you in advance

Hi latvian,
Unfortunately your tank is way too small for gouramis or rainbows. I've never kept guppies but I imagine 3 gallons wouldn't allow you to keep very many unless you plan on doing a fair amount of maintenance.
I personally don't know much about shrimp but you may be able to keep a couple in there. Live plants should be fine, but java moss would probably fill that tank up in a relatively short amount of time.
Using aqadvisor.com can be a good starting point to get ideas on what you can stock. There are also a lot of good threads here on starting up a new tank.
Good luck!

@Eggheadfish: Thank you for your reply and your advice.

@FWFishTanks: The tank comes with under ground filter and I got a small size 50W heater.

I don't know what these other people are talking about, you can keep a fair amount of guppies AND shrimp. I had a 1 gallon with 2 red shrimp and 3 guppies and ran it just fine until I gave it away(5 months later it's still perfectly fine)

Under gravel filters are awful to work with IMO. I'd only lightly stock it if you have an under gravel. Maybe a single MALE guppy and some shrimp

Delivered via owl
Ministry of Magic