BadFish's REEFER Madness

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Badfishofbabylon

Aquarium Advice Freak
After Building a custom LED hood for my first pico, I decided to keep the tank how it was (Don’t want to mess with a good thing) and just start a new build. Everything will be the same as the first pico, just different lights. I am still new to reef tanks and the Nano/Pico thing, but I am learning as much as I can. So feel free to chime in with any advice or questions, just try not to be a huge D-bag about it. (I think everyone is tired of the condescending fish genius that love to tell you why you suck)

Anyways here is my plan for the tank. I want to see if the LEDs will be able to support Sps coral growth and color for myself. So now I can judge the two tanks against each other. I know that are many variables but it will be fine for what I want to know.

Here is my Basic Equipment List for both tanks.

Tank- Fluval Spec Desktop

Filter- AIO

Heater- Marina C10 10w

Other- Outlet Timer (for Lights), Thermometer.

Yup that’s it.

Here is a list of the individual equipment, stats and stocking list for each.

Tank 1- Started 12/2010

Lighting- Custom hood with 2x 10w Coralife Mini Power

Compact Fluorescent 50/50

Stocking List- Livestock

· Live Rock x 2 lbs.

· Hermits x 3

· Snails x 4

· Sexy Shrimp x 1

· Porcelain Anomie Crab x 1

· Pom Pom Crab x 1

· Emerald Crab x 1

Corals- Soft

· Assorted Mushrooms x 8

· Button Polyps x 4

· Kenya Tree x 1

· Giant Green Duncan

· Green Star Polyps

· Zoanthus Polyps (damaged from a different tank)

LPS

· Giant Green Polyp Duncan x 1

Tank 2- Started 1/2010

Lighting- Custom hood with

2x Cree 3w LED white,

2x Cree 3w LED Royal Blue,

1x Cree 1w LED UV.

(Whites and R.Blues/UV are on

separate dimmers.)

Stocking List- Livestock

· Live Rock x 2 lbs.

· Hermits x 1

· Snails x 1

Enjoy!