Band new betta owner: please help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tarable93

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm brand new to the fish world and I have been doing a lot of research to make sure my betta stays healthy. I have a 1.5 gallon tank (I live in a small apartment) and I am ordering a sponge filter to keep the current down. He also has a plant and a light. I have a few questions to make sure I'm taking good care of him:
What heater wattage should I get (if I should get one?)
Will a 5w be enough?
How often should I replace the water and how much of it?
Should I feed him once or twice a day?

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated! :fadein:

once a day feeding
needs 72+ temp
water change 1 a week or 2 depends

Notice his tummy when you feed him - the area just next to his gills. You'll notice it will get fuller and rounder the more he eats. It can be bad for him to eat too much, so rather feed only a little bit, he mustn't look as though he's swallowed a marble :)

I've heard some say that it's better to soak dried food like dried bloodworm before feeding, as otherwise it might swell in his stomach.

If you can, he'll be MUCH happier in a slightly larger tank. 1.5 really is very, very small for him. If there's any chance, he'll really appreciate a 5 gallon tank to make his own. You'll see his personality bloom :)

I would change 20-40% of the water at least twice a week. In terms of feeding think variety. I prefer to use freeze dried blood worms, betta pellets, frozen brine shrimp, and baby feeder shrimp as a treat. I've never had problems with feeding non-soaked dried food before.

1.5 gallons is a bit small so careful with the feeding. When in doubt, feed less and ONLY once a day. Like 3-4 betta pellets a day or 4-5 worms/shrimp. It's almost impossible to underfeed a fish and he will not starve trust me.