Basement Sump

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ROBSTOY

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all!! Newbie here...I have a 75 gal tank and I'm looking at putting my sump in the basement. I would think no more than 20 ft of pvc for the run. Can I use the same sump that I am currently using under the tank now or would i need a bigger one? Also, would i need a larger pump to push that water back up to the tank?

You'll need a big sump that can hold a lot of water in case the power goes out. All the water from 20 ft of tubing will flow back into it. I have a big pump and the flow rate drops dramatically with each foot it has to pump vertically. After seven feet, the flow rate drops to zero and won't work. That information is printed on the side of most aquarium pump boxes, by the way. You'd need a massive pump to have a decent flow rate after going up at least 12 feet vertically (assuming 8 ft from basement floor to floor above and an extra 4 feet to top of aquarium.)

I'm not saying it's not possible, but I haven't seen any pumps made for aquariums that are strong enough. You may have to go with a pool pump. I'm not sure if they're safe for aquarium use though.

Have you considered a canister filter? It could go under or behind the aquarium and work well (quiet, good flow, good filtration, freedom to use your filter media of choice, etc).

Hmmm...
I'm not familiar with any pumps designed for aquariums that can handle 20 ft of head pressure. Only thing that comes to mind would be a well pump, and that probly isn't a very good idea.

Also:
Aquarium Water Pump Head Pressure and Pump Performance
As the head pressure increases the gph will decrease.
Each 90-degree bend in the plumbing will add about one foot of head due to friction. Each 45-degree bend will add 1/2 foot head pressure. This includes any bends in filters, chillers and uv sterilizers.