Biocube 14 problem !

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

guppylover101

Aquarium Advice Activist
I set up my me biocube 14 in 12/26/13 it's been 2 weeks from today and I have seen I have a lot of algea but I don't know why I'm new to this and indeed all the help I can get I have everything that I need to start saltwater master test kit,Hydrometer and cleaning supplies I also bought the water already mixed and I tested it with my hydrometer to make Shure the salinity is accurate I also needed to buy ph 8.2 from API because my ph was at 7.8 I don't know why I am having this problem I read that it's probably diatom algea and this happens when your tank is in its last day of cycling I also added ammonia thank you I will try to post some pictures I also have some dead coral in the whole of my live rock for decoration they gave them to me at global aquatics where I purchase everything including the tank my ph is 8.2 , ammonia 2.0 ppm , nitrate 80 ppm , nitrite is 2.0 ppm

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    170.8 KB · Views: 93
Looks like diatoms to me nothing to be worried about. All part of the cycling..also what have you been topping off your tank with?..rodi water or tap water?

Thanks saltdog117 I have been topping off with rodi water and will it go away or what's going to happen and when am I going to be able to add fish

Get cuc in there or just wait it will eventually due off when it uses up all the nutrients or there are other things out competing them

What big red said^^..that's how I rounded out my cycle..with the cuc 5 red leg hermits and 2 turbo snails..I have the 14g bio myself. The diatoms will disappear once parameters level out. The cuc will speed up that process..after the diatoms go away I would test your water again and go from there..should be ready for fish by then!!