Bolivian Rams - Stocking & Pairing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

oscarwilde

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, I have a 36 gallon bowfront aquarium that has been cycled and running with fish in it for almost a month. I wanted to do a community tank with both mollies and a pair of bolivian rams (or, if possible, 2 females and 1 male ram). My tank has an Aquaclear 70 HOB filter running on it and is a planted setup. I do 50% water changes 2x weekly and use the API Freshwater Master Test kit. My ammonia and nitrate levels are 0ppm. I am not new to fish keeping but I am new to keeping bolivian rams. The temperature in the tanks stays at 76 degrees Fahrenheit.

Currently, I have 6 mollies living in the tank along with a male betta and 3 otos. I also have 6 baby mollies in a breeding net that I will give away to my LFS when they are a month old (born last week) so they will not be permanent residents. The mother molly died a week after giving birth to them and was healthy until her sudden death. I was sad to lose her so I decided to net her babies and raise them until they are big enough to be given away next month.

I would really like a pair of bolivian rams and was wondering what the best way is to have a pair? I heard that buying a group of them increases the odds.