Brand new- need help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pso408

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just want to start off by mentioning that I am completely new to the hobby. I admit that I was ignorant and made a mistake but I would never purposefully harm or mis-care for any animal. I just never knew how much went into having an aquarium. Again, I feel very ignorant and feel awful. I just went on to this website for a quick browse and started realizing what was truly required to have a healthy tank.

Here's the problem:
I bought a 10 gallon tank with a filter, heater, air pump, and some food. Great- add water, run the filter for 24 hours, add fish, and boom...you've got yourself a beautiful tank, right? Apparently not.

So I waited until the water was the right temp. (automatic heater) and went out and bought 4 red eyed tetras and 3 Cory's and added them to the tank.

I've been feeding them the recommended foods twice daily and everything has appeared to be going well. The fish are active and beautiful and they appear happy.

Well I started reading this forum and learning about cycling, bacteria, ph, nitrite/nitrates, ammonia, etc..

If I could go back and follow appropriate measures by cycling the tank and everything before adding the fish I would.

But now I have these fish who have been living in this tank for a week and have no idea what to do. Should i I take them back so they don't get sick? Is it too late and now theyre going to suffer?

Once again, I know I'm ignorant. I did te wrong thing. But now that I know better I REALLY want to do whatever I have to do to keep these fish healthy and make my tank the perfect environment. It's been a week and they still appear healthy and happy. the water appears completely clear.

What do I do? I'm willing to buy any product or do whatever needs to be done.

Thank you

Pso408 said: