brand new

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

smomus

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hey all! I recently bought a small 30 gal tank that was already esgablished with 14 various fish. I am totally new to the aquarium world. I've owned several betta in the past with varying success. I have spent the past 2 days studying up on how to care for this new adventure and am learning new things all the time.
When purchased the aquarium it came with 1 Bala shark, 1 rainbow shark, an angel fish, 3 black skirts, 2 Mollies, 1 plecostomus, a male betta, Buenos Aires tetra (I think) and 3 red glass barbs (I think) then a few little snails in the gravel. Saturday night I also bought a moss ball my daughter begged for, and some live plants. My son is hoping to buy some aquarium frogs in a few weeks to add. My kids and I have so enjoyed watching them and getting to know each one. They all seem healthy and happy at this point and hoping to keep them that way! Any tips or suggestions any of you have for me are more than welcome!

I would get rid of the Bala shark, the rainbow shark and the pleco at least. You have too many fish and these are inappropriate for that size tank.

Yes in my researching I am realizing how big those fish are going to get! The lady I bought them from lead me to believe they were all fully grown. she stated the last one was bought over a year ago but I am coming to believe that isn't true. I am hoping to be able to get a larger tank but am assuming that to accommodate the shark it will have to be 100+ gal

Hello! Welcome to AA! Congratulations on your new found hobby. It is a lot of fun. I must say you ended up with quite the combination of fish in a 30 gallon! I am curious how long the old owner had this set-up with these fish.