Can't get Ammonia level to zero

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fish4thewin

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi. I'm new to the hobby and I've having an issue getting Ammonia levels down to 0 in my fresh water tank. My Ammonia levels consistently read 0.25ppm despite by attempts to bring it down. I'm hoping someone can be some pointers or other things to try.

Tank Setup
I have a 30 gallon fresh water tank with 4 mollies, a Pleko and gravel substrate. There's also a live large amazon sword plant and two small mothball plants. The tank has been operational for about 3 months. I went through the cycling process and waited about month before adding fish. (I was trying to make sure I could keep the plants alive before adding fish.)

Filter
I have a small Whisper 30 filter that uses charcoal in a media bag. On a previous attempt at a tank, I was changing the filter media every time I did a water change. I haven't changed the filter since I started this tank and wasn't planning on doing it until the bag started to fall apart. Is there a problem with this approach that might be keeping my ammonia level up?

Ph
When I first started this tank, I had a high Ph. Using straight tap water gave me an 8.8. My plants actually weren't doing so hot when the tank started, but I quickly attacked the Ph problem and my plants turned around in a couple days. It was kind of cool to see them rebound so quickly and watch brown leaves turn to green. I now have a consistent Ph of 7.6. I brought the Ph down by adding a couple large pieces of driftwood and by using more neutral water that comes from the filtered water dispenser on my refrigerator.

Plants
Now that the Ph is under control, the Sword has sprouted another bud and has started forming a second Sword about 8" away from the parent. I use Flourish twice a week with the recommended dosage.

Fluval Biomax