Can't get the PH up Help Please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jawboxen

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Help me please. I am at my wits end here. I have been losing fish one or 2 at a time for the 7 months. Every 3 months i am going through some sort of bacterial/fungal spell and i treat it and everything if fine for 3 months then it comes back. I brought some water from my tank to my local pet store and had them test it as my test strips were no help. I have almost no PH in my tank. The levels are barely recognizable on their chart. So i bought some PH powder which is supposed to raise the ph to 7.0 I added it yesterday, no change. 6 hours later i added another 1/2 a dose because i lost another fish, no change in ph again. I tested the water again this morning and the PH levels are still so low they barely register on the chart so i dosed it at a full dose again this morning, again no rise in PH levels 8 hours later. I am down to barely any fish here. What do i do now? How can i get my PH levels up and stop losing fish due to no PH in my tank and why after adding so mu PH up is there still no PH in my tank?

I need lots of help please :( and thank you

what ph number was it? and what is it now. ph is a scale so its not like there isnt no ph in the tank. you should also figure out your kh and gh before trying to mess with your water.

what fish do you have?

Yesterday at the pet store he gave it a level of 5.0 My test strips i bought are showing it barely even yellow. So i would venture to guess it would still be at the 5.0 level since my scale that came with the test strips starts at 6.0 on a full yellow and the color i get isn't even close to as yellow as the 6.0 The pet store guy told me the ph up would fix the problem and that the low ph levels are why my fish have been dying and getting fungus/baterial infections.